Lecture Series

The college and its departments support these lecture series to promote a thorough examination of issues related to agriculture.

Carl and Marjory Hertz Lecture on Emerging Issues in Agriculture
The lecture series was created in memory of the founders of Hertz Farm Management Inc. to inspire generations of industry leaders, research scientists and young professionals to reach their full potential. 

Charles E. Bessey Lecture
The Bessey Lecture honors Charles Bessey, a distinguished botanist and faculty member of what is now ecology, evolution and organismal biology department who made major contributions in phylogenetics, conservation and agricultural extension. The lecture is offered once per year and will be listed on the EEOB department’s seminar webpage.

David W. Staniforth Memorial Lecture
The Staniforth Memorial Lecture honors Staniforth, who was a weed scientist in the agronomy department from 1947 to 1984. He was a pioneer in the field of weed science and his research helped to shape the effective weed control systems used by farmers today.

Feeding the World Seminar Series
Sponsored by the M.E. Ensminger International Chair in Animal Agriculture and the Raymond and Mary Baker Chair in Global Agriculture.

George A. Fuller Memorial Lecture
Fuller earned a bachelor’s degree in economics at Iowa State. His career spanned the practice and theory of economics, including work in the export and transportation industries. A generous gift from him funds this lecture.

George M. Beal Distinguished Lectureship in Rural Sociology
The lecture series celebrates the life of Beal, emeritus professor and former chair of the Department of Sociology (now known as the Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice). The annual lectures bring increased visibility to the important work of rural sociologists and seek to stimulate research, extension and teaching activities designed to help improve the quality of living among rural people.

Harold Gunderson Memorial Lecture
Since 1983, students and faculty have benefited from a gift by Gunderson’s estate. This support allows the entomology department to invite scholars to speak on applied research and extension topics, honoring the contributions that Gunderson made during his 32-year career.

I.W. Arthur Memorial Lecture
Arthur joined the economics department in 1936. His extension research and activities included contributions in the areas of farm leases, land tenure, social security, partnership agreements, pork and beef marketing and rural human capital. However, his greatest contributions were in undergraduate teaching.

John Pesek Colloquium on Sustainable Agriculture
The Pesek Colloquium is intended to encourage discussion about and community engagement with topics vital to agricultural sustainability. The event is named for Pesek, emeritus professor of agronomy, whose work led to a better understanding of the effects of management practices on the environment and crop production.

Norman Borlaug Lecture
The lecture series is named for Borlaug, the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize winner and founder of the World Food Prize. The annual lecture coincides with the World Food Prize International Symposium and features a speaker who is a leader in areas related to prize themes. 

Paul A. Dahm Memorial Lecture in Entomology
Dahm was a faculty member in entomology for 34 years specializing in insecticide toxicology. The lecture is held annually, with invited speakers addressing subjects related to insect toxicology.

Paul L. Errington Memorial Lecture
Errington, a professor of wildlife biology, was considered one of "four great pioneers of animal ecology," by Animal Ecology Today. The lecture recognizes his qualities as a person and as a scientist and is organized by the natural resource ecology and management department.

Shivvers Memorial Lecture
The Shivvers Memorial Lecture Series brings distinguished speakers to speak about the ways agriculture can sustain natural resources, its responsibility to both the land and the farmer and its interdependence in the web of life. The Leopold Center presents this annual lecture series to honor John Shivvers, who farmed near Knoxville.

Stupka Undergraduate Research Symposium
The Stupka Symposium is organized and run by undergraduate students in the biochemistry, biophysics and molecular biology department’s areas of study. It was the inspiration of Robert John Stupka III, an undergraduate student majoring in biochemistry, who believed in the power of research and strived to connect students and faculty for the purpose of scientific investigation.

Walter E. and Helen Parke Loomis Lecture Series
The Walter E. and Helen Parke Loomis Fund was established by the Loomis family in 1981 to help preserve Walter Loomis’ tradition for generations of plant physiologists in the genetics, development and cell biology department. The lecture typically takes place in late April to mid-May and will be listed on the GDCB events webpage.

William H. Pierre Memorial Lecture in Soil Science
The lecture series honors the memory of Pierre, who served as an administrator, researcher and leader; most notably as the head of the agronomy department from 1938 until 1964. His initial work on the effect of nitrogen fertilizers on soil pH won the American Society of Agronomy Nitrogen Research Award in 1931.

William K. Deal Endowed Leadership Lecture
Deal, an Iowa State alumnus with a degree in agricultural education, established an annual lecture series to help prepare future leaders and innovators in agriculture. The lecture is organized by the Department of Agricultural Education and Studies.