Norman Borlaug Lecture

A graduate student talks to gathered people at the Norman Borlaug Lectureship Poster Competition inside the Memorial Union at Iowa State University. Posters displayed on easels and other gathered people can be seen in the background.The Norman Borlaug lecture series began in 2002 and is named for the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize winner and founder of the World Food Prize. Dr. Norman Borlaug (1914-2009) was a Cresco, Iowa, native whose discoveries sparked the Green Revolution. He received the Nobel Peace Prize for his contribution to world peace through his wheat research and production that saved millions of lives worldwide. He founded the World Food Prize in 1986 to recognize the achievements of individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world.

The annual lecture coincides with the World Food Prize International Symposium and features a speaker who is a leader in areas related to World Food Prize themes.

Prior to the lecture, Iowa State University students take part in the Norman Borlaug Lectureship Poster Competition for Graduate and Undergraduate Students. The public is invited to view the students' posters in the hour prior to the start of the lecture.

The fall 2023 Norman Borlaug Lecture took place Oct. 23, in the Great Hall of the Memorial Union, presented by 2023 World Food Prize Laureate Heidi Kühn.

Past lectures:

2023 - Norman Borlaug Lecture featuring 2023 World Food Prize Laureate Heidi Kühn

2022 - Norman Borlaug Lecture featuring 2022 World Food Prize Laureate Dr. Cynthia Rosenzweig

2021 - Norman Borlaug Lecture featuring 2021 World Food Prize Laureate Shakuntala Haraksingh Thilsted

2020 - Norman Borlaug Lecture featuring 2020 World Food Prize Laureate Rattan Lal

2019 - Norman Borlaug Lecture featuring 2019 World Food Prize Laureate Simon Groot