ISU's MANRRS Chapter Names National Chapter of the Year

April 11th, 2005

Iowa State’s Minorities in Agriculture, Natural Resources and Related Sciences (MANRRS) chapter was named the national Chapter of the Year April 2 at the MANRRS 20th annual Career Fair and Conference in Pittsburgh.

The chapter’s entry materials and presentation focused on its many community service activities including participating in Habitat for Humanity, building a playground, canned food and clothing drives and cleaning the Curtiss Hall auditorium weekly.

There are 31 members of the Iowa State MANRRS chapter. Natalia Weinsetel, a food science and human nutrition graduate student, is president of the chapter. Advisers for the group are Nina Grant, College minority liaison officer; Mary de Baca, diversity coordinator; and faculty members Deland Myers, food science and human nutrition, and Lita Rule, natural resource ecology and management.

It was the first time the Iowa State MANRRS chapter won this award. The Chapter of the Year Award competition was designed to promote leadership development among local chapters.

Also at the conference, Iowa State graduate student Aaron Jeffries was re-elected the MANRRS National Graduate president.

MANRRS is a national society of people from all racial and ethnic group involved in agricultural and related sciences. There are 66 chapters at universities and colleges nationwide. The organization’s web site is:


Mary de Baca, Diversity Programs, (515) 294-8574,
Nina Grant, Office of Multicultural Programs, (515) 294-1701,
Ed Adcock, Communications Service, (515) 294-2314,