ISU Student Groups Honored at National Meeting

December 12th, 2002

AMES, Iowa — Two Iowa State University student groups in the agricultural and biosystems engineering department were honored at the 2001 American Society of Agricultural Engineers Meeting, which was held last August.

ISU's Agriculture Systems Technology club won first place nationally in the Equipment Manufacturers Institute (EMI) competition for best student agricultural mechanization club report. ISU's club has won this national award three years in a row. Chris Freund, a senior in agriculture systems technology from Griswold, Iowa, chaired the EMI report. Other members of the team include Will Cannon, Newton; Shawn Schulte, Dorchester; Ryan Hanselman, Lu Verne; Josh Sievers, Storm Lake; and Levi Studer, Wesley.

Also, Iowa State's ASAE student branch won second place in the EMI competition in the Agricultural Engineering Clubs division. Justin Bonnema, Inwood, was instrumental in the composition of the group's paper.

Other ISU student awardees were: Chris Melvin, Ames, received the K.K. Barnes Student Paper Award for the best undergraduate research paper; Mark Mommsen, Clinton, was elected as the first vice-president of the ASAE Pre-Professional national student group; and Russell Persyn, a graduate student in the ABE department from College Station, Texas, was given a Presidential Citation for developing and implementing an environmental design contest for undergraduate student competition.


Stewart Melvin, Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering, (515) 294-1880
Bridget Bailey, News Service, (515) 294-6881