ISU College of Agriculture Presents Awards to Faculty, Staff

January 17th, 2003

AMES, Iowa — The College of Agriculture at Iowa State University presented annual awards to faculty and staff at its spring semester convocation on Jan. 16. Award winners were:

Ebby Luvaga, economics academic advising coordinator, received the Outstanding Adviser Award. For the past five years Luvaga has advised an average of 60 to 70 freshmen and 10 to 12 international students annually. She also serves as an associate adviser for upper level students in the department. In addition, she has coordinated learning communities, international internship opportunities and taught introductory economics courses.

Jim Kliebenstein, professor of economics, received the Outstanding Achievement in Teaching Award. He has taught economics classes for 17 years. He was honored for teaching core courses in economics and regularly receiving high ratings from students. He also has been instrumental in incorporating problem solving, ethics, environmental, international and multicultural dimensions into the curriculum.

Nancy Grudens-Schuck, assistant professor of agricultural education and studies, received the Early Achievement in Teaching Award. She came to Iowa State in 1999 and has helped students learn while challenging them to develop as scholars. She also serves on the coordinating committee and as a faculty member in the graduate program in sustainable agriculture.

Jim Reecy, assistant professor of animal science, received the Early Achievement in Research Award. Since starting at Iowa State in 1999, he has focused on the molecular mechanisms that control skeletal and cardiac muscle growth in animals.
The Agroecology Issue Team received the Team Award. This interdisciplinary issue team of the Leopold Center for Sustainable Agriculture has helped to develop local watershed management systems that increase the sustainability of agriculture. The team has partnered with landowners, businesses, resource management agencies and non-governmental organizations to establish conservation buffers and restore wetlands.

Max Rothschild, Charles F. Curtiss distinguished professor of animal science, received the Excellence in International Agriculture Award. Rothschild has been active in animal genetics and genomics in 30 countries since 1982. He has worked with students on an international basis to collaborate research and teaching programs.

Dan Loy, professor of animal science and ISU Extension livestock specialist, received the Outstanding Achievement in Extension Award. Loy became a faculty member in 1982 and has developed programs that have helped Iowa cattle producers remain competitive.

Basil Nikolau, professor of biochemistry, biophysics, and molecular biology, received the Outstanding Achievement in Research Award. Since arriving at Iowa State in 1988, Nikolau has received national and international recognition for his research as a plant biochemist and molecular biologist. His research has helped develop a fundamental understanding of biochemistry, molecular biology and genetics of plant metabolism as they relate to the chemical composition of agricultural products.

Julie Todd, ISU Extension entomology program specialist, received the Early Achievement in Extension Award. Todd has been the technical editor for the pest management and environment program since 1997, which provides 85 educational publications and videos on pesticide applicator training and integrated pest management. Her work has provided learning opportunities and timely information to help Iowans make good decisions when using pesticides.

Deland Myers, associate professor of food science and human nutrition, received the Diversity Enhancement Award. Myers has been a faculty member since 1988 and has contributed to the development of ISU's Carver Academy for outstanding minority students. He has worked to recruit more ethnic minorities into agricultural areas and works closely with students to help them succeed in agriculture and the technical sciences.

Nancy Holcomb, administrative specialist in food science and human nutrition, received the Professional and Scientific Award for Achievement and Service. Holcomb began working in the College of Agriculture in 1970. She was honored for her excellent supervisory skills and for helping the department successfully meet several challenges over the past several years.

Marylou Weigel, account clerk in food science and human nutrition, received the Merit Award for Achievement and Service. A College of Agriculture employee since 1986, she was nominated for her service to students, staff and faculty.

David Laird, associate professor/USDA collaborator, received the Raymond and Mary Baker Agronomic Excellence Award. The award is based on performance and given to faculty who have received their Ph.D within the last 15 years. He specializes in soil chemistry and mineralogy. He is the leads a team of four scientists in the investigation of biogeochemical processes influencing organic carbon sequestration and soil structure.


Barbara McManus, Communications Service, (515) 294-0707