ISU Ag Business Club Earns First-in-the-Nation Honors

August 9th, 2007

AMES, Iowa "“ The Iowa State University Agricultural Business Club was named the 2007 National Outstanding Chapter and received the National Creative Club Award from the American Agricultural Economics Association (AAEA).

The club received the awards at the annual meeting of the student section of AAEA July 29-31 in Portland, Ore.

In addition to the club's awards, Matt Clarahan, agricultural business senior from Harper, was elected North Central vice president of the Student Section of AAEA.

The ISU Agricultural Business Club is an undergraduate student organization advised by economics professors Ronald Deiter and William Edwards.

"The club's recent awards demonstrate a 15 year pattern of excellence unmatched by other collegiate agribusiness clubs," said Edwards.

Since 1992, the club has received the National Outstanding Chapter Award eight times and has been awarded the National Creative Club Award five times since its creation in 2000.


Editor's Note: A photograph of the Agricultural Business Club delegation to the 2007 American Agricultural Economics Association meeting is available by contacting Melea Reicks Licht.


William Edwards, Economics, (515) 294-6161,
Melea Reicks Licht, Agriculture and Life Sciences Communication Service, (515) 294-8892,