Iowa State University Economics Department Members Presented Awards at Professional Meeting

August 30th, 2012

AMES, Iowa -- The Department of Economics at Iowa State University was honored with several awards by the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association (AAEA).

Awardees included:
* Professor Helen Jensen named an AAEA Fellow
* Professor Brent Kreider shared the Outstanding Applied Economic Perspectives and Policy Article Award with two co-authors
* Professor GianCarlo Moschini was presented the Quality of Communication Award
* Professor Wallace Huffman was presented the Quality of Communication Award, Honorable Mention
* Professors Joseph Herriges, Catherine Kling and Dan Otto; John Downing (ISU Department of Ecology, Evolution and Organismal Biology; and Kevin Egan (University of Toledo) were presented the Bruce Gardner Memorial Prize for Applied Policy Analysis
* Farm management team members Tim Eggers, Robert Wells and Kelvin Leibold shared the Distinguished Extension/Outreach Program Award with others from universities of Missouri and Illinois
* Agricultural Business Club was named Outstanding Undergraduate Club and Academic Quiz Bowl Champions

"It was a very nice tribute to both the quality and the diversity of the work that we do in agricultural and applied economics," said John Schroeter, department interim chair and professor of economics.

The awards were presented at the AAEA's annual meeting Aug. 12-14 in Seattle, Wash. The AAEA, formerly the American Agricultural Economics Association, is the main professional association serving the interests of members working in agricultural and broadly related fields of applied economics.


John Schroeter, Economics, (515) 294-5876,
Kristin Senty, Economics, (515) 294-9849,