Iowa State University Department of Animal Science Announces Artz Chair for Faculty Excellence in Animal Science

November 23rd, 2020

Iowa State University Department of Animal Science Announces Artz Chair for Faculty Excellence in Animal Science

AMES, Iowa – The Iowa State University Department of Animal Science is pleased to announce that Anna Johnson will serve as the first Artz Chair for Faculty Excellence in Animal Science.

The Tyrone D. Artz, M.D. Chair for Faculty Excellence in Animal Science recognizes a faculty member who has shown distinction in undergraduate education in animal agriculture and has a prominent research program in an area that strengthens and supports the improvement of animal agriculture in the state of Iowa.

“Dr. Johnson is a tremendous teacher, researcher and extension resource in our department. Anna has stepped up in every way to serve Iowa agriculture from preparing students for careers in animal production to helping farmers and ranchers solve problems faced in the field and more,” said Dr. Dan Thomson, chair of the department of animal science.

Johnson earned a bachelor’s degree in animal science from the University of Reading, then a master’s degree in applied animal behavior from the University of Edinburgh. She continued her education at Texas Tech University to obtain her doctorate in animal science in 2001. She currently teaches courses on both domestic and farm animal behavior and welfare in the department of animal science at Iowa State.

“Dr. Johnson will do great things with these resources and we know that she will represent the Artz family very well in this role,” Thomson said. This chaired position is a three-year appointment beginning December 15.

The endowed chair was made possible through a generous gift from the Artz family. Dr. Tyrone and Kaelene Artz have supported many different areas of Iowa State from scholarships to named faculty chairs in both the College of Veterinary Medicine and the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences.

Tyrone was a 1964 Iowa State graduate in zoology, who went on to medical school and had a successful career as an orthopedic surgeon. After Tyrone’s passing in 2015, Kaelene has continued her support for the university. She is a lifetime member of the ISU Alumni Association, an Iowa State University Foundation Governor, a long-time member of the College of Veterinary Medicine’s Dean’s Fundraising Committee and an ISU Alumni Association Honorary Alumni Award honoree.

The Artz family made their gift through the Iowa State University Foundation. The foundation is a private, nonprofit organization committed to securing and managing gifts that benefit Iowa State University. The Forever True, For Iowa State campaign, with a historic goal to raise $1.5 billion, will help support Iowa State in becoming the premier land-grant university for the 21st century and beyond.


Michelle Hiscocks, communications program coordinator, Department of Animal Science, 515.294.5517,
Elaine Watkins-Miller, communications, Iowa State University Foundation, 515.294.1005,