Iowa State University Agricultural Honor Society Presents Awards

May 16th, 2017

AMES, Iowa — The Iowa Chapter of the Honor Society of Agriculture, known as Gamma Sigma Delta, presented awards April 20 to Iowa State University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences alumni, faculty and students.

Mission Awards were presented to these college faculty who have made exceptional contributions in helping Iowa State achieve its mission:

• Aaron Gassmann, entomology professor, and James Russell, animal science professor, the Research Mission Award.

• Jodi Sterle, animal science professor, the Teaching Mission Award.

• Daniel Morrical, animal science professor, the Extension Mission Award.

• Tom Baas, animal science professor emeritus, the International Mission Award.

Max Rothchild, C.F. Curtiss Distinguished Professor in Agriculture and Life Sciences, Ensminger Endowed Chair of International Agriculture and animal science professor, received the 2016 Distinguished Achievement in Agriculture Award.

The honor society also recognized undergraduate students: Zhitao Ming, a biology major, who received the Sophomore Award of Merit; and Sarah Myers, an animal science major from Sabula, who received the Senior Award of Merit. The awards are presented to students who earn the highest grade point average in the sophomore and senior classes.

The Alumni Award of Merit was presented to John Hallberg, who works as director of regulatory affairs for Zoetis. He graduated from Iowa State with a bachelor’s degree in animal science in 1978 and both a master’s in 1982 and Ph.D. in 1984 in veterinary medicine.

Gamma Sigma Delta is a faculty-governed honor society that selects its members from students, graduate students, faculty and alumni for the promotion and recognition of high achievement. Its purpose is to encourage excellence in the practice of agricultural pursuits and high standards of scholarship in all areas of agricultural science and education.

This spring two faculty, staff or alumni and 121 students — 20 juniors, 47 seniors and 54 graduate and veterinary medicine students – were nominated and approved for membership in the honor society. Barbara Clawson, program coordinator and senior lecturer in horticulture, is president.


Barbara Clawson, Horticulture, 515-294-5624,
Barb McBreen, Agriculture and Life Sciences Communications Service, 515-294-0707,