November 26th, 2003

AMES, Iowa —The American Society of Agronomy named Iowa State University agronomy Professor Antonio Mallarino recipient of the Werner L. Nelson Award for Diagnosis of Yield-Limiting Factors.

The award recognizes outstanding performance and leadership in the development, acceptance and implementation of diagnostic techniques and approaches in the field, with emphasis on identification and correction of yield-limiting factors in crop production. The award is supported through a contribution by the late Werner L. Nelson to the Agronomic Science Foundation.

It was presented at the 2003 annual meetings of the ASA, Crop Science Society of America (CSSA) and Soil Science Society of America (SSSA) held recently in Denver, Colo.

Mallarino's research focuses on improving the agronomic and environmental efficiency of phosphorus and potassium management through more effective soil and plant tissue testing, fertilizer and manure placement methods, nutrient management for conservation tillage and use of precision agriculture technologies, including variable-rate technology.

Mallarino earned his master's and doctoral degrees from Iowa State. He serves on the editorial boards of Agronomy Journal and Soil Science Society of America Journal.

ASA, CSSA and SSSA are educational organizations helping more than 11,000 members advance the disciplines and practices of agronomy, crop and soil sciences by supporting professional growth and science policy initiatives and by providing quality, research-based publications and a variety of member services.


Antonio Mallarino, Agronomy, (515) 294-6200

Melea Reicks Licht, Agronomy, (515) 294-1890

Teddi Barron, News Service, (515) 294-4778