Iowa State NAMA Chapter Wins National Agri-Marketing Competition

April 25th, 2012

AMES, Iowa ­— The Iowa State National Agri-Marketing Association (NAMA) chapter won first place in the association's Student Marketing Team Competition, held in conjunction with the association's annual conference and trade show April 17-20 in Kansas City, Mo.

To compete, students developed a business plan and professional presentation to market a new product or service. This year the team marketed Caridea Farms fresh Iowa-raised shrimp. The team was judged by a panel of marketing and agribusiness professionals. The chapter's marketing team advanced to the final round of competition, ultimately beating out 29 other universities for the first place honors. This is the first time Iowa State University has won the national competition.

The chapter also won the John Deere Signature award for overall points accrued for student participation, involvement in the national competition, scholarship awards and annual report. The team received $3,000 with the award that will be used for future chapter activities.

Team members included: Darrin Rahn of Milledgeville, Ill. and Kaci Demott of Rockport, Mo., seniors in agricultural business; Brittany Jurgemeyer of Rockwell, a senior in public service and administration in agriculture; Abby Webb of Wapello, senior in marketing; Jessica Kuehner of Lawler, senior in agricultural studies; Alyssa Foster of Riverside, senior in agricultural education; Ellie Weiss of Ames, junior in agricultural studies; Andy Edson of Nashua, and Marcie Stevenson of Wheatland, juniors in agricultural business; Beth Irlbeck of Dedham, junior in public service and administration in agriculture; Traci Tiernan of Granger, junior in agricultural education, communications option; Katy Darrah of Monmouth, Ill., junior in agronomy; Alicia Humphrey of Ixonia, Wis., sophomore in agricultural education, communications option; Donna McCune of Manlius, Ill., Emily Flory of Denver, Breanne Wagner of Webster City, Joy Tong of Ningbo, China, and Dacia Dykstra of Decorah, all sophomores in agricultural business; Tanner Walleser of Lansing, freshman in pre-business; and Jordan Neighbor of Alburnett, and Calvin McBride of Alburnett, both freshman in agricultural business.

The team is coached by Stacey Noe, Agricultural Entrepreneurial Initiative program coordinator; Carly Cummings, Agricultural Entrepreneurship Initiative program assistant; and Lori Youngberg, CALS Distance Education program coordinator.



Stacey Noe, Agricultural Entrepreneurship Initiative, (515) 294-4945,

Melea Reicks Licht, Agriculture and Life Sciences Communications (515) 294-8892,