Iowa State Agriculture Honor Society Awards Alumni, Faculty and Students

April 16th, 2018

AMES, Iowa - Gamma Sigma Delta, the Iowa Chapter of the Honor Society of Agriculture, presented awards to Iowa State University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences alumni, faculty and students on April 13.

Mission Awards were presented to college faculty who made exceptional contributions to Iowa State’s mission:

● Lance Baumgard, animal science professor, received the Research Mission Award
● Tom Bass, animal science professor emeritus, received the Teaching Mission Award
● James Reecy, associate vice president of research and animal science professor, received the International Mission Award
● Jason Ross, animal science associate professor, received the Extension Mission Award

Iowa State University President Wendy Wintersteen, who also served as the dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences and director of the Iowa Agriculture and Home Economics Experiment Station, received the 2017 Distinguished Achievement in Agriculture Award.

Gamma Sigma Delta also recognized undergraduates Holly Cook, a sophomore in agricultural business, and Grace Feilmeier, a senior in agricultural and life sciences education, for their academic achievement. The Awards of Merit are presented to students who earn the highest grade point average in the sophomore and senior classes.

The Alumni Award of Merit was presented to Mike Fowler, who graduated with his bachelor’s degree in agricultural education at Iowa State University in 1964 and went on to earn his master’s degree in animal nutrition. Fowler worked for 35 years in research and development for Land O’ Lakes.

The honor society also initiated eight junior undergraduates, 35 senior undergraduates, 43 veterinary medicine graduate students and one faculty member during the ceremony.

Gamma Sigma Delta is a faculty-governed agriculture honor society. Its purpose is to encourage excellence in the practice of agricultural pursuits and to encourage high standards of scholarship in all branches of agricultural science and education.


Barb Clawson, Horticulture, 515-294-5624,
Barb McBreen, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Communications Service, 515-294-0707,


Latest News

Borlaug-Ruan Interns: Internship fosters student’s desire to create awareness of global food insecurity

Borlaug-Ruan Interns: Potato research redefines student’s career goals

Borlaug-Ruan Interns: Experience strengthens student’s research skills

CALS Dean Daniel J. Robison standing next to Katie Stutsman

Stutsman named Emerging Iowa Leader by College of Agriculture and Life Sciences