College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Alums Honored

January 23rd, 2013

AMES, Iowa - Iowa State University's College of Agriculture and Life Sciences presented awards at the annual Alumni Association Honors and Awards Ceremony in October.

Dennis Casey received the Floyd Andre Award Floyd Andre Award. The award recognizes alums who have made outstanding contributions to production agriculture, agricultural business or who have significantly influenced Iowa agriculture.

Casey received a bachelor's degree in agricultural business in 1964, a master's degree in poultry breeding in 1968 and a doctorate degree in poultry breeding and genetics in 1970 from Iowa State. He became president of Hy-Line International in 1975. He retired in 2006 and during his term he modernized the chick distribution system, expanded international marketing and helped the company become a global leader in genetics.

He has served on the Living History Farms board since 1980, the Civic Center of Des Moines board since 1995 and as chairman of the Egg Industry Center at Iowa State since 2008. He is president of Biova, an innovative research and product development company focused on eggs.

Jim Gulliford received the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences George Washington Carver Distinguished Service Award. The award was established to honor Iowa State alumni and friends for outstanding achievements in the agricultural, food, environmental, social and life sciences.

Gulliford, executive director of the Soil and Water Conservation Society, received his bachelor's degree in forestry management in 1973 and his master's degree in forestry economics and marketing in 1975 from Iowa State.

He began his career working in mining and reclamation programs at Iowa State University. He directed soil and water conservation programs for the State of Iowa from 1982 to 2001 before joining the Environmental Protection Agency as Region 7 administrator in Kansas City. From there he moved to Washington, D.C. as an EPA assistant administrator for the Office of Prevention, Pesticides and Toxic Substances.

Among other awards Gulliford received the Gamma Sigma Delta Alumni Award of Merit in 1990, Berg Fellow designation by the Soil and Water Conservation Society in 1992 and the Division of Soil Conservation Award in 2001.

Gulliford also serves on the advisory board for a five-year $20 million grant to study corn sustainability across the Midwest. The grant is led by Iowa State and involves 10 institutions across nine states.

John Gordon received the Henry A. Wallace Award. The award was established in 1978 to honor an Iowa State alumnus who has made an outstanding contribution to national or international agriculture in writing, teaching, research or leadership.

Gordon graduated with a bachelor's degree in forest management in 1961 and a doctorate degree in plant physiology and silviculture in 1966 from Iowa State. He is a Pinchot Professor of Forestry and Environmental Studies Emeritus with the Yale School of Forestry and Environmental Studies. He also is a senior managing fellow at the Center for Sustainable Processes and Practices at Portland State University.

Gordon served as dean of Yale forestry from 1983 to 1992 and 1997-98, department head and professor at Oregon State University's department of forest science, Iowa State University professor of forestry and plant physiologist at the Pioneering Project in Wood Formation for the U.S. Department of Agriculture Forest Service in Wisconsin. He also was a Fulbright Scholar in Finland and India.

Gordon has led several national assessments on research and resource management for the National Research Council/National Academy of Sciences and Indian Forests. He is leading the third congressionally mandated national review of forests and forestry on Native American lands.

His consulting experience includes forest product firms, the World Bank and the United Nations Development Programme. He also is a managing partner in Candlewood Timber Group, LLC, and Maximum Yield Associates, LLC.

Gretchen Cline received the Superior Achievement Award for Early or Mid-career alumni from the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. The award honors distinguished alumni under 40 years old who have excelled in their professions and are providing outstanding service, leadership and involvement in their communities.

Cline graduated with a bachelor's degree in forestry from Iowa State in 1997. After graduation Gretchen worked for the Iowa Department of Natural Resources forestry division as an assistant district forester in Elkader, Iowa.

Cline joined Geode Forestry Inc. in 2001 as a consulting forester in Swedesburg, Iowa. She assists private landowners with forest management, tree planting, timber sales and appraisals. She also is an Iowa Tree Farm Inspector and has presented at the annual Tri-State Forest Stewardship Conference in Wisconsin.

Cline has served as the secretary treasurer for the Iowa Society of American Foresters for 13 years and coordinates forestry meetings with neighboring states.


Barbara McBreen, Agriculture and Life Sciences Communications, (515) 294-0707,