College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Alums Honored

October 21st, 2011

AMES, Iowa - Iowa State University's College of Agriculture and Life Sciences presented awards today at the annual Alumni Association Honors and Awards Ceremony.

Jim Frevert, who retired from Hertz Farm Management Inc. in Nevada, Iowa in 2003, received the Floyd Andre Award that recognizes alums who have made outstanding contributions to production agriculture, agricultural business or who have significantly influenced Iowa agriculture.

Frevert joined Hertz Farm Management Inc. in 1964 after receiving his bachelor's degree in farm operations in 1960 from Iowa State. He helped build the business' reputation as a personalized, hands-on service with dedicated professionals. He served as president from 1988 to 2000.

Harold Crawford, Iowa State agricultural Education and studies professor, received the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences George Washington Carver Distinguished Service Award. The award was established to honor Iowa State alumni and friends for outstanding achievements in the agricultural, food, environmental, social and life sciences.

Crawford received his bachelor's degree in agricultural education in 1950 and began teaching high school vocational agriculture in Iowa. He then received his master's in 1965 and doctorate in 1969, both in agricultural education at Iowa State.

After 15 years of teaching, he came to Iowa State in 1965 as an agricultural education instructor, became a professor and then served as department head. He also served as associate dean and director of international agricultural programs in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences.

He coordinated grant proposals that totaled more than $21 million for partnership projects. He was instrumental in establishing a Partnership Educational Center in Costa Rica and the Brenton Center for Agricultural Instruction and Technology at Iowa State.

Lowell Catlett, dean of the College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences at New Mexico State University, received the Henry A. Wallace Award. The award was established in 1978 to honor an Iowa State alumnus who has made an outstanding contribution to national or international agriculture in writing, teaching, research or leadership.

Catlett is known for sharing his knowledge about technology and its implications on how society lives and works.His presentations are inspiring, lively, varied and upbeat. His areas of expertise include marketing economics, futures markets and production economics. His interests include advising and teaching both undergraduate and graduate students, futures market research, futuristic planning and forecasting.

Charles Stewart received the Superior Achievement Award for Early or Mid-career alumni from the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. The award honors distinguished alumni under 40 years old who have excelled in their professions and are providing outstanding service, leadership and involvement in their communities.

Stewart graduated in 2000 with a bachelor's degree in agricultural biochemistry. He works as a research associate at the Salk Institute for Biological Studies in La Jolla, Calif. The institute's research in molecular biology and genetics, neurosciences and plant biology is used to develop new treatments for diseases and improve the world's food supply.

Stewart grew up in Des Moines and participated in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences George Washington Carver Internship Program and Iowa State's Science Bound programs, which are designed to introduce high school students to agriculture and the sciences. After enrolling at Iowa State, he worked as a research associate and served as the national president of Minorities in Agriculture, Natural Resources and Related Sciences.

Editor's Note: Photos available by contacting Barbara McBreen.


Barbara McBreen, Agriculture and Life Sciences Communications, (515) 294-0707,