Awards Presented by ISU Agriculture Honor Society

April 14th, 2002

AMES, Iowa - Awards were presented April 8 to Iowa State University College of Agriculture faculty members and others by the Iowa Chapter of the Honor Society of Agriculture, known as Gamma Sigma Delta.

Richard Ross received the Distinguished Service to Agriculture award, which is the highest award the society bestows. Ross served as dean of the College of Agriculture the past two years, and as dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine from 1992 to 2000.

Three Mission Awards were presented. The Research Award went to Lloyd Anderson, distinguished professor of animal science. Brad Skaar, associate professor of animal science, received the Teaching Award. The Extension Award went to Leo Timms, associate professor of animal science.

The Alumnus Award of Merit was presented to Tim Fevold, an ISU graduate in agricultural business, who is currently vice president and accredited farm manager with Hertz Farm Management Inc.

The honor society also recognized two undergraduates in the College of Agriculture. Mary Gilles of Lodi, Wis., majoring in agronomy, received the Sophomore Scholarship Award of Merit. Bart Boehm of Greenfield, majoring in agronomy, received the Senior Scholarship Award of Merit.

New chapter officers were installed. They are Brad Skaar, animal science, president; Gail Nonnecke, horticulture, vice-president; and William Edwards, economics, secretary-treasurer.

Gamma Sigma Delta encourages excellence in the practice of agricultural pursuits and high standards of scholarship in all branches of agricultural science and education.


Susan Thompson, Agriculture Communications, (515) 294-0705