Awards Presented by Iowa State University Agriculture Honor Society

April 30th, 2015

AMES, Iowa — The Iowa Chapter of the Honor Society of Agriculture, known as Gamma Sigma Delta, presented awards April 23 to Iowa State University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences alumni, faculty and students.

Maynard Hogberg, professor emeritus of animal science, was presented the Distinguished Achievement in Agriculture Award. Hogberg, an Iowa State alumnus, retired last year after 11 years as chair of the ISU Department of Animal Science.

The Alumni Award of Merit was presented to Karl Dawson, vice president of Alltech Inc. He earned a doctorate in bacteriology from Iowa State in 1979.

Mission Awards were presented to faculty in the college who have made exceptional contributions in helping Iowa State achieve its mission:

  • Leo Timms, professor of animal science, Teaching Mission Award
  • James Reecy, professor of animal science, Research Mission Award
  • Susan Lamont, Charles F. Curtiss Distinguished Professorship in Agriculture and Life Sciences and professor of animal science, International Mission Award

The honor society also recognized undergraduates:  Molly O’Brien, an animal science major from Elberon, received the Sophomore Scholarship; and Daniel Schnadt, a biology major from Sumner, received the Senior Scholarship. The awards are presented to students who earn the highest grade point average in the sophomore and senior classes.

The purpose of Gamma Sigma Delta is to encourage excellence in the practice of agricultural pursuits and high standards of scholarship in all areas of agricultural science and education.


Ken Holscher, Entomology, (515) 294-5967,
Ed Adcock, Agriculture and Life Sciences Communications Service, (515) 294-2314,