Awards Presented by Iowa State Agriculture Honor Society

April 21st, 2005

The Iowa Chapter of the Honor Society of Agriculture, known as Gamma Sigma Delta, presented awards April 5 to Iowa State University College of Agriculture faculty and alumni.

Mission Awards winners, from left, William Edwards, Joel Coats and Douglas Kenealy.Alumnus Harold Hodson received the Distinguished Service to Agriculture Award of Merit for contributions to agriculture. He earned bachelor’s and doctorate degrees in animal science in 1961 and 1965. Hodson is primary owner and president of Swine Genetics International of Cambridge.

The Honor Society presented three mission awards to College faculty members. The awards were presented to M. Douglas Kenealy, animal science, for teaching; Joel Coats, entomology, for research; and William Edwards, economics, for extension. The award is given to three faculty who have helped Iowa State achieve its mission in the areas of extension, research and teaching.

The purpose of the Iowa Chapter of the Honor Society of Agriculture, Gamma Sigma Delta, is to encourage high standards of scholarship in all areas of agricultural science and education. Jim Kliebenstein, professor of economics, is the president of the society.


Jim Kliebenstein, Economics, (515) 294-7111,
Ed Adcock, Communications Service, (515) 294-2314,