Agronomy Professor Named Wallace Endowed Chair for Sustainable Agriculture

June 20th, 2007

AMES, Iowa — Matt Liebman, Iowa State University agronomy professor, will become the new Henry A. Wallace Chair for Sustainable Agriculture July 1.

Liebman will serve a five-year term, which can be renewed for up to eight years. He joined Iowa State in 1998 as an associate professor in agronomy.

He succeeds former Wallace Chair Lorna Michael Butler who retired Feb. 1 from Iowa State after seven years in the position.

Liebman earned a bachelor's degree in biological sciences from Harvard University in 1978 and a doctorate degree in botany from the University of California at Berkeley in 1986.

He serves as chair of the interdepartmental Graduate Program in Sustainable Agriculture and held the Pioneer Hi-Bred Agronomy Professorship from 2001 to 2004. His research focuses on cropping system diversification, soil amendments and weed ecology and management.

The Henry A. Wallace Endowed Chair for Sustainable Agriculture was established in 1997 to promote the philosophical and practical ideas of Henry A. Wallace, a former U.S. secretary of agriculture and U.S. vice president. The chair honors Wallace's commitment to the wise use of science and public policy to protect natural resources and farmland, enhance vibrant and enduring rural communities and alleviate global poverty and hunger.

The Wallace Chair provides leadership for the collaborative development and implementation of major educational and research programs on the sustainability of current and future agricultural practices.


Matt Liebman, Agronomy, (515) 294-7486,
Ed Adcock, Agriculture and Life Sciences Communication Service, (515) 294-2314,
Editor's note: A photo of Matt Liebman is available by contacting Ed Adcock.