Agronomy Faculty, Student Recognized by Agronomic Societies

December 1st, 2005

The Iowa State University agronomy department received numerous awards at the 2005 international annual meetings of the American Society of Agronomy (ASA), Crop Science Society of America (CSSA) and Soil Science Society of America (SSSA) Nov. 6-10 in Salt Lake City.

Agronomy faculty honored by the societies include Alfred Blackmer, professor, who received the W.L. Nelson Award for Diagnosis of Yield-Limiting Factors; Antonio Mallarino, professor, who was named a fellow of ASA; Russ Mullen, professor, who received the Crop Science Teaching Award; and Mary Wiedenhoeft, associate professor, who was honored with the Agronomic Resident Education Award.

Jason Haegele an Iowa State student and senior majoring in agronomy and agricultural engineering also was honored. He won the Hank Beachell Future Leader Scholarship.

ASA, CSSA and SSSA are professional/scientific and educational organizations with more than 11,000 members.


Melea Reicks Licht, Agronomy, (515) 294-1890,