Iowa State’s Maynard Hogberg Selected for Prestigious Livestock Industry Honor

Hogberg portrait
Maynard Hogberg

AMES, Iowa — One of the American livestock industry’s highest honors will be awarded to an Iowa State University emeritus professor and former animal science department chair.

The 2016 Saddle and Sirloin Club Portrait Award will be presented to Maynard Hogberg at a ceremony in Louisville, Kentucky, in November. Hogberg’s portrait will be unveiled as the newest entry in the Saddle and Sirloin Club Portrait Collection, a 113-year-old tradition honoring leaders who have demonstrated lifetime achievements and provided outstanding service to animal agriculture.

For three decades, Hogberg led animal science departments at Iowa State University and Michigan State University. He served as chair of Michigan State’s animal science department from 1984 to 2002 and chair of Iowa State’s animal science department from 2003 to 2015.

“The Saddle and Sirloin Club honor recognizes Dr. Hogberg’s legacy as one of the nation’s premier university leaders of animal science programs,” said Wendy Wintersteen, endowed dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. “During his tenure, he contributed greatly to enhance our animal science department’s reputation. Due to his leadership, the department is nationally and internationally recognized for its strong undergraduate and graduate programs, an excellent broad-based research program and an actively engaged extension program. His engagement with and responsiveness to the needs of Iowa livestock and poultry industries was critical in helping Iowa State meet its land-grant mission to Iowa agriculture.”

As a national leader in animal agriculture, Hogberg shaped a generation of animal scientists, extension specialists and industry leaders through his mentoring of students, faculty and staff and academia and industry colleagues. Hogberg provided leadership to numerous state and national livestock associations and organizations, including serving as president of the American Society of Animal Science and of the Federation of Animal Science Societies. He was instrumental in the formation of the National Swine Registry.

Hogberg will be the 369th person honored since 1903, joining the ranks of other notable names in Iowa State history, including Seaman Knapp, Charles F. Curtiss, Henry Kildee, Jay Lush and Richard Willham. Willham, an emeritus distinguished professor, was the last Iowa State person to be inducted, in 2004.

Iowa State is seeking donations to raise $60,000 to fund the expenses of Hogberg’s portrait and honor ceremony, plus to support student scholarships and judging team programs in Iowa State’s Department of Animal Science. Donations are tax deductible. Checks, made payable to the Iowa State University Foundation, can be sent to Dessie Schroeder, ISU Department of Animal Science, 109 Kildee Hall, Ames, IA 50011. Donations also can be made online.

The Saddle and Sirloin Club Portrait Collection is curated by the Kentucky State Fair Board and displayed in the Kentucky Exposition Center in Louisville. It is believed to be the world’s largest portrait gallery commemorating a single industry.