Iowa State University Soil Judging Team Wins 2014 Regional Competition

ISU Soil Judging Team
From left: Derek Rothe, Becca Clay, Tim Riessen, Heidi Dittmer, Tyler Hoose, Emma Haven, Kolin Sukovaty, Geneva Knutson, Casey Campbell, Kolbe Stenoien, Josie McMinemee, Ryan Reimers, Gretchen Schrock, Sam Stecker, Derek Wedemeier and Tom Lawler.

AMES, Iowa — The Iowa State University Soil Judging Team won the Region 5 Collegiate Soil Judging contest held here Oct. 2.

ISU hosted the contest, which was authorized by the American Society of Agronomy and Soil Science Society of America. Kansas State University, University of Minnesota, Missouri State University, University of Nebraska and South Dakota State University competed with Iowa State.

ISU’s team won the judging of three soil profiles and the overall contest. The team was coached by Tom Lawler and Heidi Dittmer, graduate students in agronomy.

Missouri State came in second in team judging and University of Nebraska was third. Kansas State was second in the overall contest standings and the University of Nebraska was third.

ISU had six of the top 10 students in the individual judging of two soil profiles:  first place, Ryan Reimers, sophomore in agronomy from Defiance; third, Tim Riessen, sophomore in agronomy from Schleswig; fourth, Derek Rothe, junior in agronomy from Denison; fifth, Gretchen Schrock, senior in agronomy from Kirkwood, Illinois; sixth, Sam Stecker, senior in agricultural systems technology from West Liberty; and ninth, Casey Campbell, freshman in agronomy from Franklin, Indiana.

The remaining team members are:  Rebecca Clay, senior in agronomy and global resource systems from Le Mars; Ross Collins, junior in agricultural studies from Pleasantville; Emma Haven, senior in agronomy from Dakota City; Tyler Hoose, senior in agronomy from Cedar Rapids; Geneva Knutson, sophomore in agronomy from Wapello; Josie McMinemee, sophomore in agricultural and life sciences education from Denison; Kolbe Stenoien, senior in agricultural business from Iverness, Illinois; Kolin Sukovaty, sophomore in agronomy from Manson; Kalli Weber, sophomore in agronomy and agricultural and life sciences education from Mapleton; and Derek Wedemeier, senior in environmental science from Charles City.