Iowa State Agronomy Faculty Receive National Honors

AMES, Iowa — Faculty in the Iowa State University agronomy department received several awards and honors in October at the joint national meetings of the Crop Science Society of America (CSSA), the Soil Science Society of America (SSSA) and the American Society of Agronomy (ASA). Steven Fales and Mark Westgate were named Fellows of all three societies. Fellows are chosen for their dedication and service to agronomy, crop science and soil science and superior achievement in research, education and public service. Allen Knapp received the Seed Science Award from CSSA in recognition of distinctive service to the development and use of quality seeds in agriculture. He also completed a three-year term as board representative for ASA and CSSA. Doug Karlan was awarded the ASA Agronomic Research Award for major research accomplishments resulting from basic or applied research in agronomy. He also was presented with the Wener L. Nelson Award for Diagnosis of Yield-Limiting Factors which ASA awards for leadership and accomplishments in the development, acceptance or implementation of diagnostic services. Robert Horton received the Soil Science Research Award from SSSA in recognition of his innovation, excellence in reasoning and technical abilities, originality and significance of research to basic soil science. Mary Wiedenhoeft and colleagues were presented with an ASA Award of Excellence in the audio-visual extension education division for the creation of a virtual field trip for use in distance education. Ali Tabatabai was elected as a board representative for the soil chemistry division of SSSA. Susana Goggi was elected to the CSSA board as a seed physiology representative. Lance Gibson was elected program chair for resident education for ASA. John Sawyer was recognized as retiring from the ASA Agronomy Journal editorial board.