INRC Field Tours 2021

The INRC hosted two research tours to discuss new research findings with educators and researchers in 2021.

Wonders of Iowa Wetlands - May 2021

This webinar, which aired May 25, 2021, kicks off the series “Profiles in the Wonders of Iowa’s Wetlands” created by the Iowa Nutrient Research Center and Iowa State University Extension and Outreach. Presenters Kay Stefanik, INRC Assistant Director, and Adam Janke, wildlife specialist for Iowa State University Extension and Outreach and an assistant professor of natural resource ecology and management. They introduce the series and review types of wetlands found in Iowa, their functions and ecology, and the beneficial goods and services they can provide.

Conservation Station On The Edge Demonstration

INRC Director Matt Helmers narrates a short video demonstrating nutrient-reduction processes for a saturated riparian buffer and a bioreactor for an Iowa Learning Farms Conservation Station On The Edge Demonstration. 

CREP Wetlands with Dr. William Crumpton

Dr. William Crumpton explores a Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program wetland and discusses the role they play in nutrient reduction. A conversation with INRC Director Matt Helmers, for a Conservation Learning Lab project led by the Iowa Learning Farms. More

Evaluating flood mitigation strategies in an agricultural watershed in Iowa using process-based hydrologic modeling

INRC Fall 2020 Water Research Seminar Series
November 18, 2020

Presenter: Antonio Arenas Amado, associate research engineer, IIHR Hydroscience & Engineering - University of Iowa 

This work presents quantifications of flood reduction benefits, at the watershed-scale, associated to a system of distributed storage and different levels of implementation of cover crops and native vegetation strips.

Lake Erie Cyanobacterial Blooms & Ongoing Research

INRC Spring 2022 Water Quality Research Seminar Series: Focus on Phosphorus
January 26, 2022
Presenter: Justin Chaffin 
is research coordinator of Stone Laboratory and Ohio Sea Grant of The Ohio State University.